Year 10 KO Boys Soccer 2018 State Champions

September 24, 2018

Trinity College Year 10 Knockout Boys Soccer Team are state champions after defeating Roma Mitchell Secondary College 2-1 on Monday 24 September.

In a perfect start to the game Trinity struck in the first five minutes. Pressure continued and forced a Roma Mitchell own goal to make it 2-0 at half time. Roma Mitchell then scored their first to drag one back and threw everything at the Trinity defence in the final few minutes but Trinity held strong and claimed the College’s first-ever Year 10 Boys State Soccer title.

The win gained extra significance as it was Roma Mitchell who soundly defeated Trinity in the Year 8/9 knockout tournament last year. After this match last year, former Trinity soccer coordinator Marc Thomas commented that it would not be long before Trinity overtook their more physically dominant opponents. The style that Trinity played, he said, would prepare them for higher-level soccer. Skillful, possession-based soccer was what Trinity was determined to promote, even if it meant short-term losses. The boys in this year’s championship group have been exposed to this skill-based style for several years now and it is starting to pay dividends!

Congratulations to all members of the state championship team.

  • Vincent Barbaro (Year 9)
  • Lachlan O’Connor (Year 10)
  • Josh Hillman (Year 9)
  • Jye Seymour (Year 10)
  • Leighton Fenney (Year 10)
  • Brett Verdon (Year 10)
  • Jack Robery (Year 10)
  • Ryan Satchell (Year 9)
  • Rhys Thompson (Year 10)
  • Raymond Muhoma (Year 10)
  • Orlando Sagrillo-Yeaman (Year 10)
  • Corey Powell (Year 10)
  • Christos Katianos (Year 10)
  • Calvin Bui (Year 10)
  • Jack Davies (Year 10)
  • Taj Claridge (Year 8)
  • Coaches: Lee Cockerill, Ben Cockerill